## BOARD RESOLUTION TO HONOR GUILD COFOUNDER SHERRI SCHULTZ

At the meeting of the Board of Directors of the Northwest Independent Editors Guild on December 11, 2017, the following resolution was proposed and approved by the board:

## Resolved:

WHEREAS, the mission of the Northwest Independent Editors Guild (Guild) is to connect clients with professional editors in the Pacific Northwest, to foster community among our members, and to provide resources for their career development;

WHEREAS, this mission of the Guild began on August 24,1997, as the brainchild of founding members Phyllis Hatfield and Sherri Schultz, who on that day hosted the inaugural meeting of what was to become the Northwest Independent Editors Guild in the living room of Phyllis Hatfield's Leschi home:

WHEREAS, having already approved a resolution honoring the initial founding of the Guild, the Board wishes to further recognize the extraordinary and ongoing efforts of cofounder Sherri Schultz throughout the Guild's early years, to wit:

- Designing the Guild's first website in 1999 and continuing thereafter to serve as content writer and webmaster,
- Serving on the initial Guild Steering Committee formed in 2000,
- Serving as meeting organizer, facilities coordinator, treasurer, email list moderator, marketing director, community outreach coordinator, and all-around "buck stops here" gal, and
- Having a vision of where the Guild should go and acting as an enthusiastic cheerleader for the many others who have joined and followed her over the years in devoting their time, energy, and imagination to the furtherance of the Guild and its mission;

WHEREAS, as 2017 is the 20th anniversary of the founding of the Guild, the Board of Directors wishes to celebrate and commemorate the efforts of its founding members;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that, on behalf of the members of the Guild, the Board of Directors does hereby convey its profound gratitude to founding member Sherri Schultz for her unique contributions over the years in creating and fostering the Guild, for her boundless time and energy devoted to the Guild, and for the firm groundwork she laid that allowed the Guild to become the vibrant organization it remains today.

## APPROVED this 11th day of December, 2017.

## Signed:

Jill Walters, President

Pm Weizenbaum, Vice President Kristin Carlsen, Vice President Christina Johnson, Secretary Elaine Duncan, Treasurer

Elaine Duncan, Treasure Kelley Frodel

Roberta Klarreich Donita Leeson

Kerrie Schurr

Jessyca Yoppolo Polly Zetterberg